Always Make New Mistakes

I found a cute fridge magnet with this sentence on it, and I liked it so much that I copied it to a post it and stuck it to the wall next to the monitor.

I love it because I want to always be doing new stuff, and when you do new stuff you naturally make mistakes, and you learn from them, and its great. You just want to avoid doing the same mistake twice, because this may mean that you are not learning. What’s not to like? Oh, and I also get to write blog posts about my new mistakes. Old mistakes are usually not worth writing about.

But this should probably be improved to “Always Make New Mistakes (in staging)”, because when I work on production I want to always see nice old mistakes that I’ve seen before and know exactly how to solve in the 3 minutes of maintenance downtime I have this month while my boss is looking over my shoulder asking questions.

Yay for new mistakes, but not on production.

3 Comments on “Always Make New Mistakes”

  1. Statistique says:

    That makes me remember something my grandfather used to told me.

    “Stupid people make the same mistake over and over. Try to stay far from them.

    Smart people make mistake, but never make the same one twice. Learn from them.

    Very brigth people learn from other people mistake ! You need to do just that my son. ”

    It was one of the most useful piece of advice I ever get !

    • prodlife says:

      I have to admit that I’m not that good at learning from other people’s mistakes. I always have to try everything on my own, because who knows, maybe things will be different for me 🙂

  2. joel garry says:

    “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” – Einstein

    Who, obviously, never did software QA, performance problem solving, debugging, or most any of the other things we do in a days work.

    Or perhaps we’ve already all gone insane.

    Then again, Einstein never accepted quantum physics, either. We might all learn from that mistake.

    Still wondering whatever happened to the chalkboard-eraser sized pink pearl eraser imprinted with “I Never Make Big Misteaks” I used to have. I surely didn’t use it up. Must be in a box somewhere.

    I actually have no problem with making the same mistake multiple times. I’ve learned the problem, even in production, is not making the mistake, but is being prepared to recover from it, especially if you can do so before anyone notices (or better, such that they notice and are awestruck by your handling of it). That might be the brightest thought of all.


Leave a Reply

