Look! I’m an Oracle Ace!

otn_ace

Thanks to Laurent Schneider and Freek D’Hooge who nominated me, I now joined the prestigious group of Oracle Aces.

Oracle actually emailed me last week with the news, but somehow I did not take it that seriously, until I saw the Ace logo next to my name in OTN. This makes me so happy. Few years back when I just started working with databases, I’ve read the OTN forums often and admired the Ace experts who gave such professional answers. Seeing this logo next to my name reminds me how much I learned and advanced in the last few years. Mostly the last year actually.

It feels very satisfying to get this recognition. I’m sure this is not the end of the journey for me, but barely the beginning – there is always more to learn, more to test, more to write about and more things that will keep me up until 4am.

Rob wondered why I still call myself “Just a Simple DBA” (I’m taking his question out of context a bit). The reason is that, despite being Oracle Ace and all that, I’m actually a  junior DBA at work. I’m working with several DBAs who are more experienced than me, are better troubleshooters, have more creative solutions to production issues, and know much more than me about many database topics. I’m getting an award not because I’m a better DBA, I’m getting an award because I enjoy sharing what I do. Sharing is important, but it is also important to keep things in proper perspective

33 Comments on “Look! I’m an Oracle Ace!”

  1. ittichai says:

    Chen,

    Congrats. I appreciate your writings and sharing.

    Ittichai

  2. Dear Chen,

    Congrats, you deserve it! Welcome to the group 😉

    Cheers,

    Francisco Munoz Alvarez

  3. Dan Norris says:

    You rock. Keep sharing–it’s what this community is all about and you’re an important part of it. The ACE award just confirms what we already knew and I’m not surprised that the ACE folks were quick to realize it too.

    Congrats!

  4. Surachart says:

    Congratulations!
    Wow…. that’s awesome!

    And that make me know one who is ACE 😉

  5. chet says:

    Congratulations! Well deserved.

  6. Doug Burns says:

    Well done, Chen. I think I assumed you already were an ACE.

    “I’m working with several DBAs who are more experienced than me, are better troubleshooters, have more creative solutions to production issues, and know much more than me about many database topics. I’m getting an award not because I’m a better DBA, I’m getting an award because I enjoy sharing what I do.”

    Ha-ha. Yes, I may not work with DBAs who are more senior than me (except in the number of grey hairs) but I work with plenty who are as senior and they make sure they keep any ACE thing in perspective with cutting humour.

    I don’t think an ACE award was ever based on technical merit, but community contribution. Having said that, I think you’d qualify in both respects ‘junior’ or not.

  7. Congratulations!

    …but as Doug mentioned, it is amongst others, merited on contribution and if you think about it, its an attitude thing.

    You have to love to share and contribute (without getting “payback”), being a bit nerdish at times, otherwise you won’t keep it up…(it takes a lot off energy to maintain).

    Well done !

    🙂

  8. Robert Klemme says:

    Congratulations from me as well!

    I’m always amazed seeing how much one can know about Oracle and how those in the know share their knowledge. Although I am not a DBA I hope at some point I will be at least knowledgeable enough to contribute here and there. Until then, I read, try out and try to learn. Thanks for helping with that!

    Greetings

    robert

  9. Aman Sharma says:

    Congrats Chen! Good work!
    Aman….

  10. Asif Momen says:

    Congratulations Chen.

  11. Virag Sharma says:

    Congratulations Chen

  12. prodlife says:

    Thanks everyone 🙂
    You made my day. All this support is even better than the award itself!

  13. Rob van Wijk says:

    Congratulations and welcome to the group!

    About that “simple dba” thing: I think it’s wonderful to stay modest about it and put things in perspective. However, the gap with reality increases each day. I bet there will be a time when even you will start to think the phrase was a phrase about the past 🙂

    In the meantime, please keep on sharing your thoughts with the community. It’s always a joy to read.

    Regards,
    Rob.

  14. congratulations Chen!!!! 🙂

  15. Congrats Chen ! Well deserved. I remember the days when you started writing this blog. Great work. Keep it up 🙂

  16. Bernard says:

    Congratulation,
    I always like your writing and sharing style.

  17. Yaseen says:

    Dear Chen,

    You Deserved.

    Thanks
    Yaseen AR

  18. Congratulations Chen on the well-deserved recognition!

    Keep up the good work !!!

  19. Corey says:

    Chen,

    Congratulations on achieving ACE status. I must say that it is very refreshing to read about your thoughts and experiences from a person who new to the industry.

    Your posts are always an interesting because I am new to the industry as well with roughly one year less DBA experience. You are an inspiration because you make me want to continue learning and reading your postings definitely helps achieve that goal.

    You contribute a lot to the community and I personally appreciate that. I wish I could contribute as much as you but unfortunately I am not in an environment with large enough load and/or user base to cause problems.

    Again congratulations and keep up the good work!

  20. Corey says:

    Chen,

    While that is true, you don’t get the real-world learning experiences that are necessary to be truly successful.

    Do you have any recommendations on how to best leverage my willingness to learn in such a situation (besides, reading, reading and more reading)?

    Thanks!

  21. prodlife says:

    Corey,

    Few ideas to try:
    * Join 11gR2 beta program. Finding bugs is always fun. I think you are not allowed to blog it though, but you can still communicate about it to others in the beta program.
    * Convince the business they urgently need – RAC, Streams, Dataguard, 11g, datawarehouse, materialized views. Whatever you want to learn. Actually, most successful DBAs I know do that.
    * Volunteer to give a presentation to local usergroup on a subject you want to learn. Promise to make it a “live demo”.
    * Use PL/SQL to automate you tasks or implement some kind of project. This way you can be your own developer and solve your own annoying performance issues.
    * Try contributing to an existing open source project – ILO (by hotsos), ASH Simulator, TORA, John Harris network tools, etc.
    * Answering questions in OTN.
    * Did you get certified yet?

  22. Corey says:

    Chen,

    – I never thought about the 11gR2 beta program. I’ll definitely look into that.

    – My ‘business’ is complicated. We are actually mandated to reduce resources (e.g. servers), so a lot of the neat things like RAC, Streams, and Dataguard are sort of lost because of that. In addition the load on our databases today is not really conducive to implementing a RAC infrastructure.

    – I’ll try and look into the local user groups (I am assuming you mean OUGs), but last time I checked I didn’t think there was any that were local to me.

    – I am constantly working on getting as much development work as possible 🙂

    – Interesting idea about the open source project. I’ll make sure I look into those. Thanks!

    – I actually try and answer questions on OTN on a daily basis.

    – As far as the certification I have not taken any exams yet, because the approval process for getting into training is so slow and convoluted that I have spent the last year or so trying to get into one class.

    Thanks again for the tips!

    P.S. Sorry to hijack the blog, when it should just be about your congratulations.

    🙂

  23. prodlife says:

    Corey,

    One last tip: If your business is trying to reduce resources – look into advanced compression 🙂

  24. Paweł Barut says:

    Hi Chen,

    Congratulations,

    /Paweł

  25. Hi Chen,

    Welcome to the world of ACE-dom. People will check your quotes from now on, be prepared 😉

    Cheers and congrats.

    Jacco

  26. Nik says:

    Hello Chen,

    Congratulations.

    Nik

  27. Mohan Dutt says:

    I wonder how I missed the big news!!
    Heartiest Congratulations!!
    Most well deserved!

  28. Amit says:

    Congrats Chen!!

    Cheers
    Amit


Leave a Reply

