Good Times in Oracle Openworld

I came back from Openworld to the office and for two consecutive hours I could not shut up about how wonderful it was, how much I’ve learned, new troubleshooting methods, new features, new hardware!

“You are the only person in the world who can enjoy this kind of thing” my manager said when I finally closed my mouth. The senior DBA, senior sysadmin and storage admin agreed.
“What can be so great about listening to boring marketing sessions for an entire week?” They asked.

That is the big secret, I think. During Oracle Openworld I spent only three hours listening to boring marketing sessions. 14 more hours were spent on non-boring, non-marketing sessions.
And according to my accounting I spent over 20 hours that week talking to some of the most brilliant an interesting people I’ve had the pleasure to meet.

Of course I had a great time. It was better than most of my vacations.

In many ways it was better than the previous Openworld. Last year was magical, like falling in love. This time, it was a bit like visiting an old friend. I felt more at home. I knew many people, and was very happy to talk with old friends whom I’ve never met. I felt more comfortable introducing myself to people I did not know and just chatting with anyone who happened to sit next to me in OTN lounge. I also knew better which sessions to attend and what can be happily skipped. With a little help from my friends I even worked up the nerve to give an unconference session.

The highlights: Alex Gorbachev’s Clusterware Internals, walking tour of San Francisco with Rob van-Wijk, Blogger Meetup, Amazon’s session, chatting with Nicolas and Rob, RAT session by Jim Czuprinksi, complaining about streams and clusterware issues to product teams in Demogrounds, 11gR2 Beta briefing, meeting Frits Hoogland and Jacco Landlust, Andrew Holdsworth sessions, Tom Kyte sessions, Lary Ellison’s keynote, seeing Mogens Norgaad naked (video only), Tim Hall’s Spore demo, Tanel Poder’s Advanced Troubleshooting, Greg Marsden’s Linux Tuning talking with Fuadar, Justin Cave and Lewis Cunningham and my own unconference sessions.

I only regret not getting Tom Kyte to sign my chest 🙂

5 Comments on “Good Times in Oracle Openworld”

  1. Why did not Tom to sign your chest? Pencil failure :mrgreen: ?

  2. prodlife says:

    Because Doug Burns gave me this idea only after Tom was a safe distance away. I did not find another chance to do this.

    Maybe next year.

  3. Pete Scott says:

    Don’t listen to Doug Burns… I did once and now look at me 🙂

  4. Doug Burns says:

    Hey, let’s be careful I’m not sounding sexist here! 😉 We were just laughing about how some people are in the OTN lounge and not Chen, I hasten to add!!

    Besides, Chen, I’d wait until you can get someone good next year like Greg or Kyle (private joke moment)

    Oh, and ….

    ““You are the only person in the world who can enjoy this kind of thing” my manager said when I finally closed my mouth. The senior DBA, senior sysadmin and storage admin agreed.”

    Don’t listen to them. I agree with you wholeheartedly. I got a lot out of the week and had great fun … No-one round my place can shut me up, either 🙂

  5. prodlife says:

    Doug,

    Regardless (or maybe because of) your strange ideas, it was a pleasure meeting you.


Leave a Reply

