Observation Regarding the Secrets of Success

I hope no one actually hopes to find any secrets of success in my blog. I’m just a simple DBA, not a life coach.

One thing I’ve noticed is that when people talk about the secrets of success, they always name something that they are very very good in. Which makes sense when you think about it, no one will admit (even to himself) that he is a loser who just doesn’t have what it takes to succeed.

The friendly coworker said that people skills are everything, while the local network guru thinks that the key is having elite hacking skills. Getting-things-done people believe that setting clear goals and managing your time around them is the key and the interaction designer said that being flexible enough to seize opportunities is his secret.

Last week, during lunch, my manager said that positive attitude and total commitment to goals is everything, and now I know just what he values most. Funny how asking someone how to succeed tells you nothing about success and so much about that person.

And me?  I believe that the most important thing is to never stop learning.

***

Another secret of success is to read good blogs 🙂

My latest favorite is http://blog.radvision.com/codeofcontact/
Its about VOIP, which is not exactly an area I’m interested in.  Still, I find the blog fascinating, because it keeps touching the core issues of software engineering. Design, interfaces, simplicity, protocols, project management.

2 Comments on “Observation Regarding the Secrets of Success”

  1. Ran Arad says:

    Thanks for the compliment, and for the link!
    I’m curious, how did you find my little blog?

  2. prodlife says:

    Hi Ran,
    I’m actually not sure. Word of mouth, I guess. My husband is working in network protocols so maybe he tipped me.


Leave a Reply

