3 Comments on “Last Post of 2007”

  1. Chi-Chi says:

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with everyone. I am trying to get into the DBA field. I actually took the Oracle classes and intend to start my Masters this Spring in Database Management. I currently got a position at my job as a Desktop Support Analyst. What would be your advice to me about getting started in the DBA field?

  2. prodlife says:

    Hi Chi-Chi,

    The DBA field has a bit of a chicken-and-egg syndrome, where everyone looks for experienced DBAs, making it very difficult for new DBAs to find a job and gain that experience.

    I think the only way out of this loop is by gaining DBA experience while doing a different job – development or system administration, and then using this experience to look for work as a DBA or simply to move to a DBA position within the same organization.

  3. Chi-Chi says:

    Thank you for your advice.


Leave a Reply

